Cash Confessional: A week of spending in Charlotte on a $100,000 salary

Cash Confessional: A week of spending in Charlotte on a $100,000 salary
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share by Email
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share by Email

Our Cash Confessional series, in partnership with Bank of America, takes a personal and anonymous look into how people of all ages and incomes spend their money in the span of seven days.

To see the other installments of Cash Confessional, click here. This series is completely volunteer-based; if you’re interested in keeping track of your own spending and having it featured, email Kylie at [email protected]. This week, I spoke with a 26-year-old man that makes $100,000 year. Here’s how he spends his money. -Kylie

The basics:

Industry: Financial Services
Position: Management Consultant
Yearly salary: Roughly $100,000 with a bonus factored in
Extra income: I wish. I need to pick one of those side hustles that CA keeps writing about.
Who you bank with and why: I’ve been with Bank of America since I entered college just because they offered free student checking, have a good amount of ATMs and offer mobile check deposit. Now I have a credit card and my mortgage through them as well.
Savings: I put 10% into my 401(k) and move as much money into my savings as I can each month. I don’t have a set amount, but I am trying to save.
Age: 26
Gender: Male

Monthly expenses:

Mortgage: $1,236
Number of roommates: 1 – my girlfriend.
Neighborhood: Huntersville
Utilities:

Cable and internet – $140
Power – Anywhere from $80 to $180, depending on the season
Water – $35
Gas – Anywhere from $10 to $100, depending on the season

Student loans: Paid off
Car payments: Paid off
Car insurance: My parents still pay this
Transportation costs: Work parking is $75 per month
Phone bill: Covered by work
Insurance: It comes out of my paycheck, but it’s roughly $40 per.

Financial goals:

Start a budget and stick to it.

Start investing. I don’t have any investments other than my 401(k), but I’d like to.

Money Diary: How I spent my money last week

Day one: Monday

I made a breakfast shake with stuff I had at home ($0), a diet soda from the vending machine at work for a morning pick-me-up ($1.50) and grabbed lunch with coworkers ($10.54 for Chicken Salad Chick). I also grabbed an iced coffee with a friend this afternoon ($4.78) before heading to a client happy hour, where I ate appetizers for dinner ($0).

My credit card’s auto-draft hit ($1,825.80 – this includes costs my vacation and daily expenses. I get 2% back, so I use it for all of my purchases) and so did Netflix’s ($10.79).

Total spent: $1,853.41

Day two: Tuesday

I was in a rush this morning, like usual, and just had almonds at work for breakfast and followed them up with a vending machine diet soda ($1.50).

Grabbed lunch with a coworker at Showmars for $11.34 and stopped by the grocery store after work to buy snacks and a few things for meals ($41.36). I made dinner with some of the things I bought ($0).

I bought new curtains on Amazon for $15.18 as well.

Total spent: $69.38

Day three: Wednesday

I brought a granola bar and soda from home for breakfast at the office ($0) and snagged a salad with water from Newk’s with a coworker for lunch ($10.35). For dinner, I had one of the frozen meals I bought at the store yesterday ($0).

We needed weed killer, so I spent $22.63 for some on Amazon.

Total spent: $32.98

Day four: Thursday

I brought a granola bar and soda from home for breakfast at the office again ($0) and stopped for gas on the way in ($24.08).

Lunch was Indian takeout for $9.79 and a vending machine diet soda for $1.50.

For dinner, I hit a networking event with food and beer, both of which were free.

Total spent: $35.37

Day five: Friday

I was running late to work, so I skipped breakfast and had a latte later in the morning ($4). We hosted a going away party for a coworker, so we had a nice lunch ($15.29).

My girlfriend and I went to Zoë’s Kitchen for dinner ($22.78) and then out for drinks with friends ($33.25 with tip).

Total spent: $75.29

Day six: Saturday

My girlfriend and I slept in (real late) and just ate lunch at home with stuff I’d bought at the store ($0).

For dinner, I grabbed a roast beef sandwich from Arby’s ($4.80), a Red Bull and six pack of beer ($10.68) on the way to a friend’s house to hang out.

Total spent: $15.48

Day seven: Sunday

I slept in late again and just grazed around the kitchen for breakfast and lunch until I was full, then made some coffee to wake up in the afternoon ($0).

For dinner, I threw some chicken that I bought earlier in the week into the crockpot ($0).

Total spent: $0

Total spent: $2,081.94
The breakdown:

Food and drink – $183.46
Bills – $1,836.59
Transportation – $24.08
Miscellaneous – $37.81

What I learned: I spend a lot of money on eating out, but I hate eating lunch alone, so I’ll always end up going out.

___
Build your financial know-how with free tools and information to help you make more confident decisions. Visit the Bank of America Better Money Habits site today.

Need 1:1 guidance on getting your finances in order? Schedule an appointment with a Bank of America specialist today or stop in your local financial center.

Story Views:
SIGN UP
Join the 113,656 smart Charlotteans that receive our daily newsletter.
"It's good. I promise." - Emma   Emma Way